Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  
   
 Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: Speedometer max for my Yamaha  (Read 18065 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ScubaCap

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #15 on: March 03, 2008, 01:02:32 AM »
Yes it looks like the rear of my bike. It might be absolutely the same.

So i think that we have the same wheel back.
But i will just find someone that knows exactly the dimensions of the rear break and i will tell him what i need. But maybe i will fit a break like yours. After all, it is yamaha. Very cheap spare parts!



As i see it can also measure these slots that exists on the break
Why not?
Because my bike has different break with several holes...



kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #16 on: March 03, 2008, 12:12:45 PM »
Scuba, i was looking the wheel and i think that there is a better way. The 4mm spacer on the rear transmission gear, it can be changed with a new part. This part will have the same outside diameter but in the inside diameter, it will have some hills that will be used to take measurements. Thus there will be no need to have change the disc, which also might be dangerous. e?

Check a draft drawing i attach

Andre

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #17 on: March 03, 2008, 12:44:28 PM »
I like your idea. Can it fit to other motorcycles also?

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2008, 13:47:43 PM »
It can fit to any moving vehicle that can have a way to measure the turns of the wheel, and would be better to have not just one but more measuring points during a full cycle

Mosquito

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2008, 14:14:20 PM »
With this you can also use a photo coupling pair like ir or something like this. Eh?

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2008, 15:04:01 PM »
With this you can also use a photo coupling pair like ir or something like this. Eh?

No. The bike will run in mud and dirt. It is a dirt bike.

Andre

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2008, 19:10:04 PM »
Can i fit the magnetic pickup to the front transition gear? I mean, it could be possible that the pickup may measure the 14 teeth of my front gear. Is it possible?

I do not have a dirt bike so no problem with mud and dirt. But there are always waters alla round!
 ;)

ScubaCap

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #22 on: March 04, 2008, 22:11:23 PM »
I surely know that many machinery use this way as a cheap encodes but i do not know if it can run in such speeds with so small teeth to pickup.

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #23 on: March 05, 2008, 08:10:51 AM »
You can calculate if it works easily. First you need to determine your max speed. Then the rotating speed of the back wheel(in rpm) Then the gear transmission ratio and finally the front gear rotation speed in rpm. If for example you have 220rpm and 13 teeth, this means that you are probably way beyond the limits of the pickup. Check it.

ScubaCap

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #24 on: March 13, 2008, 00:13:46 AM »
I check it. Beyond limits.   :( :( :(

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #25 on: March 14, 2008, 00:04:19 AM »
I was almost sure. The front or rear wheel is the best solution.

tpone

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #26 on: March 20, 2008, 02:34:35 AM »
Yes, preferably the front.
And with another tire  ;)

beatttax73

  • Guest
Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2009, 23:37:13 PM »
Does anyone know when a new release will be out and what to expect from it ?

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #28 on: November 22, 2009, 12:57:56 PM »
what new release?

MrDEB

  • Guest
Re: Speedometer max for my Yamaha
« Reply #29 on: November 26, 2009, 13:36:41 PM »
New here as well as new to PICs
I see your considering using an optical sensor for your speedometer?
A hall effect switch is really the best method. Used in many high rpm apps.
google Hall Effect switch
sorry if this has been discussed (reading the posts I got the impression that magnetic reed switches were being considered.